Superbowl Treats

My Roomate is hosting a Superbowl party. He is very excited because this is the one day a year that he brings out his football shaped serving dish. (oh and because of his love of the game, eh whatever) I personally would rather be watching the puppy bowl but I will admit that the Superbowl is very exciting for me, from a culinary standpoint. Everyone invited has been told to bring a dish and I cannot wait to consume offensive amounts of tortilla chips dipped in various processed foods. If there is one thing I love, it’s food that is terrible for me that other people brought.

So knowing that 3/4 of the guests will probably go the salsa, guacamole, chili, queso dip route what should I make?! I have decided to go with a recipe I have been hanging on to for about 3 years but have avoided due to an inability to veganize. (which btw my general potluck food rule is to make something vegan, that way everyone feels welcome) In this instance I know everyone here is sports sports sports man man man. They don’t give a shit about vegan. They want their brownies, with eggs and milk chocolate. What better to make than Stout Brownies!

Stout Brownies
6 tbs butter
8 oz dark bittersweet chocolate, chunks
3/4 c white chocolate chips
4 eggs
1 c sugar
1-1/4 c (10-12 ounces) Stout beer- I used Old Rasputin Imperial Stout, you can use Guinness. A chocolate stout would probably be amazing.
1 c flour
3/4 c unsweetened cocoa powder
1/4 tsp salt
1 c semi-sweet chocolate chips

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees F. Line a 9 x 13-inch baking pan with nonstick foil.

Melt butter, bittersweet chocolate, and white chocolate chips over very low heat, stirring constantly until melted. Remove from heat. 

In a large mixing bowl, beat eggs and sugar until light and fluffy. Add melted chocolate mixture, beating until combined. 

Beat in flour, cocoa powder and salt into melted chocolate mixture. Whisk in stout beer and 1/2 c. of your semisweet chocolate chips. The batter will seem a bit thin. Pour into prepared baking pan and top with remaining chocolate chips. Bake 25 to 30 minutes on center rack in the oven, until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out almost clean.

Side Notes:
I have no idea where I got this recipe over 3 years ago, I know it was somewhere on the internet. I edited it (as always) to make it a little less fancy, to not have to dirty 3 bowls and not have to use a mixer. I hate doing the dishes. I forgot to put salt in my brownies and they still taste amazing, so if you hate salt or can’t eat too much or are just feeling lazy or something it is probably safe to just leave it out. Also the recipe calls for 10 oz of beer, my bottle was 12 oz and I didn’t feel like drinking the rest or throwing good beer out so I included it. Those 2 extra ounces worked out totally fine.

Review:
I have to say these are seriously some good brownies. Fudgie, a little cakey, an awesome aftertaste. Honestly, you can’t really go wrong with brownies.

This entry was posted in recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Superbowl Treats

  1. AL says:

    Hello – I am a frequent visitor to your blog. I wanted to let you know i find your recipes fascinating and often delicious. Thank you for your contributions. Do you have any good suggestions for ways to spice-up a spaghetti?

Leave a Reply

